A Renaissance Soul

For the longest time I’ve struggled to find my “passion.”  If I could just figure out what my passion was, then I’d know what to do with the rest of my life.  I’ve taken all kinds of quizzes online, read articles, and just generally spent a lot of time agonizing over it.  My conclusion?  I like a bunch of different things.  And when it comes to those different things, I’m not satisfied with a basic level of knowledge.  I want to become an expert on the subject, reading everything about it that I can.

Like any good millennial, I Googled a several different combinations of “is it ok if I like a bunch of different things and don’t actually have a single passion.”  Google never fails.

It turns out there’s a term for people like me: polymath.  Per Wikipedia, “A polymath is a person whose expertise spans a significant number of different subject areas…. The term is often used to describe great thinkers of the Renaissance and the Enlightenment who excelled at several fields in science and the arts…. This was expressed in the term “Renaissance man” which is often applied to the gifted people of that age who sought to develop their abilities in all areas of accomplishment: intellectual, artistic, social, and physical…. Leonardo da Vinci has often been described as the archetype of the Renaissance man.”

Now, I’m no da Vinic, but it’s something to strive for, eh?  Also, being a renaissance woman sounds much cooler than being a polymath. 🙂

So I decided to stop beating myself up over not having one interest and instead embrace it.  This blog will be the place where I can talk about my quest to life a renaissance life.  There will probably be a lot of talk about personal finance, as I see financial independence being the ultimate way to make a renaissance life possible.  But besides that the content could range from books I’ve read, hobbies I’m currently into, travel, cooking, home improvement projects, and if you’re lucky a couple of tales of life with my husband of almost six years, our 1-year-old son, and our two dachshunds.

Life’s too short not to enjoy every second of it.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Renaissance Soul

  1. When my husband first met me, he called me a ‘Renaissance Woman’. I’ve done a lot of research on this also. I do find it funny how back in the day, the term was renaissance, or inventor… now it is ADD, or that we are just being irresponsible by not settling. There is a term called ‘scanner’. You can check out Barbara Sher and Thom Hartmann who both talk about this term, but in slightly different ways. I’m 39 and I now work part time for two reasons: 1. If I retire completely, I feel pulled in many directions and 2. If I work full time, I won’t have the time to explore all my interests. So, for this personality type, I personally think part time work at something not too stressful is the best compromise. Funny enough, I have a draft post in progress about this subject and the importance of keeping a da Vinci journal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

